Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 171
  1. #21

  2. #22
    Quote Originally Posted by TheBaldHeadedNegro View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Oh that makes sense.
    Seriously though, games run just fine for me.

  3. #23
    Mfw Crispy/Allara posts The Bald Headed Negro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    11,744
    Quote Originally Posted by Kusarigama View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Seriously though, Doom II and Duke Nukem 3D run just fine for me.
    Oh alright.

  4. #24
    Quote Originally Posted by TheBaldHeadedNegro View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Oh alright.
    You're really in a jimmie rustling mood today eh. :rex

  5. #25
    Mfw Crispy/Allara posts The Bald Headed Negro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    11,744
    Quote Originally Posted by Kusarigama View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    You're really in a jimmie rustling mood today eh. :rex

  6. #26
    Quote Originally Posted by Ray View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I was just wondering, seeing how most people who get a "K" CPU usually do so just to overclock the thing. Then again the people I know of that do that are running on water cooling so there's that. Also yeah SLIing would just be overkill, I said all that in jest for the most part.

    The HD6670 is one of the most efficient GPUs from its time and it doesn't require a 6+2 or 6pin connector, so draws its juice directly from the PCIe slot. I wasn't really on a budget, it's more like I wasn't really aiming to build the thing. I used to frequent a hardware forum quite often and interacted with people who were upgrading by the minute, but I never got around to upping my game myself. I guess that's mainly because we don't get decent enough hardware here, as PC gaming isn't really a thing. So I'm pretty much limited to console gaming, even though I'm enthusiastic towards PC stuff.

    On a side note, I noticed you're rocking a decent wattaged PSU of 750W but it's only Bronze efficient, seems like you skimped a little wee bit on your power unit there I'd say. It might just be my old PSU OCD kicking in though as that's more than enough for the setup, but I'm an efficiency whore (Gold and Platinum ).
    Haha, yeah. I really wish it was modular, the cables are a real bitch to organize.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Myst View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Yeah, I was thinking the same thing. You could get a modular Gold/Platinum Seasonic with the budget he has.



    Thanks, I was on a strict budget so I felt that the 4590K wasn't worth the extra cash at the time.

    I might upgrade to a K - series i5 or i7 + Z97 Mobo later, but that's not a big priority for me right now - I'm more interested in a mechanical keyboard and may pick up a R9 290/290X if prices drop enough after 390X/Radeon Fury is released.
    Nice. Make sure to get an aftermarket cooler since the i-7 series is known to get very hot easily. If you can get a mechanical keyboard, I suggest getting the Corsair Cherry MX Mechanical Keyboard. It's one of the best, if not, the best mechanical keyboards out there. My friend has the chroma one and it's incredibly quiet.

    The R9 290/290X is a great card, but it gets pretty hot and uses a LOT of power. You better have good cooling or fanning in your computer.
    There are two types of opinions: wrong opinions and my opinions.

  7. #27
    luffy's unknown Brother L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1,253
    IPTION LENOVO® Y50 TOUCH
    Processor Up to 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4720HQ Processor
    Operating System Up to Windows 8.1 Pro 64
    Graphics NVIDIA® GTX 860M 4GB (Maxwell)
    Memory 16GB PC3-12800 DDR3L SDRAM 1600 MHz
    Display 15.6" FHD (1920 x 1080) 10-point multitouch display
    Dimensions (W x D x H) 15.23" x 10.37" x 0.9"
    Weight 5.7 lbs
    Keyboard Backlit AccuType® keyboard
    Camera 720P
    Storage 1TB SSHD with integrated 8 GB NAND flash or up to 512 SSD
    Audio JBL® speakers with Dolby® Advanced Audio V2
    Battery Up to 4 hours WiFi browsing depending on configuration
    Wireless
    • Bluetooth® 4.0
    • WiFi: Intel® Dual Band Wireless-AC 3160
    Connectors 2 x USB 3.0, 1 x USB 2.0, Audio Combo Jack (headphone and mic), HDMI-out, 4-in-1 (SD / MMC / SDXC / SDHC) card reader, RJ45, SPDIF

  8. #28
    There's a thing in there that goes whirrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
    STAY WOKE
    Because of you

    families can get their child the cancer treatment need without worrying about how to pay for it. Families never receive a bill from St. Jude for treatment, travel, housing or food. They can provide free housing to families, so kids aren't stuck in a hospital room while receiving the best cancer care.

    DONATE HERE
    https://shop.stjude.org/GiftCatalog/...4262&pID=24671
    -------------------------
    I AM NOT AFFILIATED WITH ST. JUDE CHILDRENS RESEARCH HOSPITAL

  9. #29
    Working on the dinosaur.
    Rest in Peace Dad
    June 15-1950 - October 21, 2015


    Oh the Irony:

  10. #30
    Magistrate of Hentai Ccrack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    england
    Posts
    1,791
    i5 quad core 3.80 GHz
    windows 7 64 bit (only retards buy windows 8)
    gtx 760 - 2 gig
    8 gig ddr3 ram
    1 tb hybrid hhd and a 200 gig ssd
    g2460pg AOC moniter with G-sync

    might upgrade in the next year or so but it runs everything i play on high anyway. maybe need some more ram and memory in my card since shit like the unreal engine eats that up like no tommorow

  11. #31
    Quote Originally Posted by Ccrack View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    i5 quad core 3.80 GHz
    windows 7 64 bit (only retards buy windows 8)
    gtx 760 - 2 gig
    8 gig ddr3 ram
    1 tb hybrid hhd and a 200 gig ssd
    g2460pg AOC moniter with G-sync

    might upgrade in the next year or so but it runs everything i play on high anyway. maybe need some more ram and memory in my card since shit like the unreal engine eats that up like no tommorow
    Can the GTX760 use more than 2GB of VRAM though? It has a 256 bus width, 4GB sounds like overkill and potential bottleneck

    <img src=http://www.millenniumforums.com/signaturepics/sigpic2925_12.gif border=0 alt= />

  12. #32
    Magistrate of Hentai Ccrack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    england
    Posts
    1,791
    no idea, it only has 2 gig in it. i actully wanted the 4 gig 750 but it was out of stock

  13. #33
    It's not about the VRAM all the time though, you're much better off with the GTX 760 simply because GTX 750 Ti and below sport >128 bus widths, and anything above 2GB would make the thing bottleneck most likely.

    Does your rig struggle on max settings?

    <img src=http://www.millenniumforums.com/signaturepics/sigpic2925_12.gif border=0 alt= />

  14. #34
    Magistrate of Hentai Ccrack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    england
    Posts
    1,791
    no. i wanted the 4 gig not for gaming but for like rendering on maya and unreal.

    i use my pc for gaming and work which is probbly a bad idea actully

  15. #35
    @Y; @TheBaldHeadedNegro; I've reluctantly decided I do need to upgrade sooner or later, and since you two were breaking my balls over it I figure you can give me some suggestions.

    Main reason I'm planning to upgrade is for Fallout 4 btw, so perhaps I ought to wait some months. I'm not sure how often new shit like this comes out.

  16. #36
    Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    6,732
    i use the local library computer.

  17. #37
    Quote Originally Posted by Phoenix View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    i use the local library computer.
    awww sweetheart

  18. #38

  19. #39
    I'm getting a new rig which is > yours Carrot (but not really)

    CPU: Intel Core i5 4440 3.1GHz
    ASUS Strix GTX 960 DirectCUII 2GB or Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X 4GB
    Kingston HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
    Gygabyte GA-H97-Gaming 3 ATX motherboard
    EVGA SuperNOVA NEX650G 650W 80+ Gold Certified
    Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 7200RPM
    Corsair Carbid Series Spec-03 Orange


    <img src=http://www.millenniumforums.com/signaturepics/sigpic2925_12.gif border=0 alt= />

  20. #40
    Eyes Unclouded Myst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,776
    Quote Originally Posted by Ray View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I'm getting a new rig which is > yours Carrot (but not really)

    CPU: Intel Core i5 4440 3.1GHz
    ASUS Strix GTX 960 DirectCUII 2GB or Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X 4GB
    Kingston HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
    Gygabyte GA-H97-Gaming 3 ATX motherboard
    EVGA SuperNOVA NEX650G 650W 80+ Gold Certified
    Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 7200RPM
    Corsair Carbid Series Spec-03 Orange

    Why are you deciding between the 960 and the 290? The 290 is way stronger and would be the obvious choice I think, it would also be much better at higher resolutions.

    Other than that, I would also suggest getting an SSD for your OS as it runs much faster than an HDD.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •